top of page

Board Members

Dr. Steven R. Goodman, PhD

Vice Chancellor for Research, UTHSC

As chief research officer Dr. Goodman is responsible for building strong teams of scientists who will accelerate the growth of research in all UTHSC colleges and at all campus locations. He directs the development and implementation of the UTHSC's comprehensive research strategy in keeping with its mission to move into the ranks of the top biomedical research institutions. He created and was the lead architect for the CTN2. Dr. Goodman serves as the first President and CEO of CTN2.

Phil Cestaro

President and CEO, TriMetis Life Sciences 

Is responsible for the overall leadership of CTN2, including but not limited to overseeing the budget, services provided, procurement of new clinical trial projects and other activities as assigned by the CTN2 Board of Directors. As the Executive

Director will report to the CTN2 Board of Directors.

Richard Magid, Phd

Vice President, UTHSC UTRF Office

Manages the operations of the UTRF Memphis office. This office is responsible for all aspects of the commercialization of technologies developed at the UTHSC. 

Ari VanderWalde, MD, MPH, MBioeth

Chair, UTHSC Clinical Trials Governance Board; Associate Vice Chancellor for Research- Clinical Trials, UTHSC

Serves as chair of the UTHSC Clinical Trials Board, which aims to support and grow clinical research by advertising access to resources and opportunities for scientists and faculty throughout the UT System.

Stacey S. Patterson, Phd, MS

Vice President of Research, Outreach & Economic Development, UT; President & CEO, UTRF

Responsible for the management and oversight of several state-wide initiatives focused broadly on improving research infrastructure as well as expanding the University's role and impact on economic development in Tennessee.

Robert Davis, MD, MPH

Governor's Chair, UTHSC-ORNL Center for Biomedical Informatics

Founding Director of the UTHSC Center for Biomedical Informatics and the University of Tennessee Oak Ridge National Laboratory Governor's Chair in Biomedical Informatics. Lead researcher in the creation of the Enterprise Data Warehouse.

Steve J. Schwab, MD

Chancellor, UTHSC

Serves as the Chief Executive Officer of UTHSC. The Health Science Center contains all six of UT's doctoral-degree-granting health science colleges - Medical, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Nursing, Graduate Health Science, and Health Professions.

William Mason, JD

Secretary & General Counsel, UTRF; Attorney, Kennerly, Montgomery & Finley, P.C

Serves as the chief legal officer for UTRF and its diverse development and demonstration subsidiaries, including CTN2, leveraging the advantages of a close affiliation with Tennessee's flagship academic research institution, while maintaining suitable separation, and the flexibility and nimbleness enjoyed by provate nonprofits.

Brittany Brent Smith, Esp.

Associate Attorney, Kennerly, Montgomery & Finley, P.C.

Counsels UTRF and its subsidiaries on a range of general business planning and corporate governance matters, in addition to providing legal services related to intellectual property licenses and options, material transfer agreements, nondisclosure agreements, as well as spin-offs and related transactions. 


Neil Hayes, MD, MPH


Participating Hospitals

bottom of page